History & Location

The Lebanese American University (LAU), formerly Beirut University College (BUC), is a non-profit private university, established by the Presbyterian Church in 1924.
In 1955, the College was chartered by the Board of Regents of the State University of New York. The College became a university in October 1992, and in 1994, the Board of Regents in New York approved BUC’s request to change into the Lebanese American University (LAU). LAU is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education, Inc. (NECHE) (formerly the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Inc.).

The Adnan Kassar School of Business is one of seven schools at LAU and is found on the two campuses, located in Beirut and Byblos. 

As one of the oldest autonomous American business schools in the Middle East, the Adnan Kassar School of Business is committed to excellent teaching, scholarly activities and professional service through a student-centered environment and diverse student population.

LAU admitted the first batch of business students in Beirut.

The Business Studies Division started to operate as an independent entity granting bachelor degrees in different concentration areas in business administration, when prior, it was under the social sciences department. 

The Masters of Science in Business (MS) was launched as a graduate business program.

A  full-fledged school of business was established.

LAU admitted the first batch of business students in Byblos.

Two deans are appointed: Dr. Tarek Mikdashi for Beirut Campus and Dr. Wassim Shahin for Byblos Campus. Several chairpersons are also appointed to manage the various programs.
The Master in Business Administration (MBA) replaces the existing MS degree program.

The introduction of two new undergraduate programs leading to BS degrees in Economics and Hospitality and Tourism Management, followed by the Executive Master in Business Administration (EMBA) program in the same year.

The School of Business starts to award the bachelor of science degree in business instead of bachelor of arts.

The School is unified under the direction of Dean Said Elfakhani.

Dr. Said Ladki is appointed Interim Dean.  

The School of Business is named after businessman Adnan Kassar as a tribute to his ongoing support for quality education. 


The LAU Adnan Kassar School of Business earns the AACSB accreditation and joins the select number of accredited business schools worldwide. 

The School operates in its own establishment in LAU Beirut and in a shared one in Byblos  —  The Frem Civic Center. 
Buildings are equipped with state-of-the-art classrooms (smart classrooms), office facilities, seminar and conference rooms, an auditorium, modern business computer labs, stock market rooms and lounges, among others. The School also houses a cooperative learning center (CLC) to support students who experience academic difficulties, and hospitality management labs to integrate classroom instruction with hands-on experience in food production, as well as restaurant and hotel services.

aksob-beirut.jpg   Frem-Center.jpg
AKSOB Building - Beirut                        Frem Civic Center - Byblos