LAU Faculty Research Gets International Recognition

AKSOB faculty receive three best paper awards in the International Conference on Organization and Management 2016.

Dec 14, 2016

From left to right: Dean of College of Business at ADU Joseph Chacko, AbdulNasser Kassar, Manal Yunis, Walid Elgammal, Wissam AlHussaini and Abbas Tarhini. 

The College of Business at Abu Dhabi University organized the International Conference on Organization and Management (ICOM) 2016, in collaboration with the Asia Academy of Management (AAOM), on November 20-21, 2016, in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Academics from around the world were invited to present their research  and discuss the opportunities and challenges of today’s business environment, around the theme “Sustainable Business Practices: Initiatives, Strategies and Trends.”

The LAU Adnan Kassar School of Business was well-represented. Seven faculty members from different departments at AKSOB, with 11 submitted papers, took part along with other academics from all over the world.
According to Abdul-Nasser Kassar, associate professor in the ITOM department and member of the ICOM 2016 international advisory committee, the conference was divided into sessions organized around 10 business tracks. “It was a high-standard conference. The president of the Asia Academy of Management was there and around 40 nationalities were present,” he said.  

LAU received the best paper award in three of the 10 tracks—education management, finance and technology. From a total of 127 papers, LAU gained recognition for its quality research publications.
“The result was excellent. The experts’ constructive feedback will allow for more improvement and more good papers,” Kassar explained. In addition, the conference would provide the opportunity for selected papers to appear in a number of respected journals, following revisions and reviews.

Congratulations to Kassar and Assistant Professor Manal Yunis  for the best paper award in the education management track, to Assistant Professor Mustafa Dah, in the finance track, and to Associate Professor Issam Kouatli, in the technology track.